2016

With 2016 coming to a close,  I’d like to share with you the things I learned this year:

  • You are your worst enemy 

Earlier this year, I joined my first 21K Marathon by Nike. It took me months before I finally decided to sign up mainly because I was not sure I could finish 21 kilometers of running. I kept thinking I wasn’t ready; I haven’t logged that much miles in yet. I kept saying “Ang kapal naman ng mukha kong sumama sa 21K.” I focused on my failures that I did not see my potential.  I’m grateful my breastfriend convinced me to challenge myself and I’m proud to say that I exceeded my expectations. Ang goal ko lang naman kasi ay hindi maging last, haha!– my time was about 3 hours and 2 minutes.

  • Your only competition should be yourself 

img_8552img_8971img_9035img_9105

In Crossfit, I remember being the last one to finish a WoD and I felt really defeated. It discouraged me to attend classes because I was ashamed of being last.  When I started training for the 21K, I forced myself to regularly attend sessions even when I knew I would hate the WoD. I started feeling better about myself not because I was the #1 in the stats board but because I was feeling better with what I could accomplish with my body. I didn’t mind what was on the board anymore as long as I completed the WoD alive and kicking! Bonus na lang if my time is better than my time before or others’ 🙂

  • Healing takes time 

IMG_6354.JPGAfter the marathon, I rested for a while due to persistent knee pain after running. When I had it checked, my doctor told me I had runners’ knee on both knees and needed physical therapy. I consulted with a physiotherapist and she prescribed different treatments. During that time, she found more problems- ITBS and a partial ACL tear. Add to that, I also acquired trigger thumb in my left hand. It was a long and expensive road but it taught me patience. My left knee is feeling a lot better now and my thumb was treated. My right knee still needs some work and thumb is starting to act up again. I’ve stopped running for now and I’m more careful in Crossfit. It gets frustrating sometimes but I feel hopeful that like before, with time and patience, I will be back to myself again.

  • Everybody starts as a beginner 

This year I took up a lot of new hobbies—calligraphy, watercolor painting, cooking, programming, and possibly more. I used to get intimidated when I see everybody else’s work and see how lousy my attempts were. Now, I still get that feeling but I have found that they, too, struggled at first before getting better. I just need to remind myself that no one starts out great. EVER.

  • There is no shame in leaving… and coming home. 

My major career move this year was to start working for the family business. My sister and brothers all came back home after graduating from college; I was the only one who stayed in Manila to work. I initially had no plans to come back to my hometown but almost six years after, I did.

My family was always hopeful that I would eventually work for them. The only problem was me. I felt embarrassed of coming back because I always thought that that meant I failed; that I did not make something of myself. They always called me the prodigal daughter and I didn’t want to prove them right.

There was also my job. I didn’t feel comfortable with leaving people behind to pick up the pieces that my absence will make. Trust me, I’ve been there. Though the more I reflected on it, the more I realized it was time to go. It was time for someone else to step up and take over.

It may be coincidence or fate but then came a lull with my work. I had fewer and lighter tasks. I took that as a sign and left quietly.   I’ve come to realize that success isn’t measured by money or commendations. It is measured by how much you’ve learned and grown.  Six months in this new job and I can’t say that I love it yet or that I don’t miss my old one. I feel content and that, I guess, is enough for me.

I’m pretty sure that there are a lot more that 2016 taught me but these are the best ones. The year went by so fast! 2016 gave us so many ups and downs I could barely keep up. This year unexpectedly turned out to be a major milestone in my life and I am very grateful to everyone who was a part of it, including you. So, thank you. Thank you. Thank you. And see you next year! Cheers to the year that was and cheers to the year to come! Hello, 2017!

Leave a Reply

