Spa and Slope

On our last full day in Hokkaido, we were encouraged to go to the Sapporo Ice Festival  before checking out since it was just walking distance from our hotel.  My sister and I already saw most of the sculptures so we planned to drop by to just buy souvenirs; we also bought our other pasalubongs from Don Quijote last night. We still spent a few hours looking at all the available items there, though.

IMG_7378

IMG_7381
Chestnuts!
IMG_7385
I’m really digging the baby winter gear

We went back just in time to board the bus going to our lunch venue where they served different kinds of crab dishes. Imagine steamed crab, crab sashimi, crab in soup. Super generous with crabs!

IMG_7386

IMG_7387

After lunch, it was time to shop… for two hours. We wanted to buy sneakers for our dad so we located the nearest Adidas store which was maybe, 30 minutes away by foot. We walked to the mall (it was a beer factory-turned-mall) and spent just an hour there. We took a taxi going back and guess what, it only took around 10-15 minutes. My sister was pissed. HAHAHAHA.

With our shopping done, we were off to the Mt. Okura viewing point. The observatory is located inside the Okurayama Ski Jump Stadium where the 1972 Winter Olympics ski jump competitions were held. Ski jumping is.. Well that. They jump from a slope in their skis.  While we were there, some athletes were training for their upcoming competitions. Sobrang wild nila.  I don’t know how steep the slopes were pero, grabe, when I saw them going down ako ang kinakabahan. What if they land wrong?  SOBRANG WILD.

IMG_7429
The slope!

To get to the observatory, we rode an open-air chair lift which was beside the slope. We had a good view just how fast the athletes were going down. HEART ATTACK. When we got to the top,  the view was so serene. Winter forest ang peg;  covered ng snow LAHAT. Sky meets snow lang as far as you can see!  Kapag spring na, puro green naman daw.

IMG_7407
My sana-di-ko-mabitawan-phone-ko face

 

 

IMG_7410
spot the athletes!

From that angle, we watched the athletes again. Wala kang makikitang hesitation. They go up via the chair lift, sit down sa waiting area and then boom, they ski jump.  Tapos akyat ulit.

 

Just before closing time, we went back down and travelled to our trip’s last stop, Jozenkai Tsuruga Resort Spa- Mori No Uta. It’s a spa resort and it is my current favorite place. GUSTO KONG BUMALIK. Ang calming ng interior nila. The place is so relaxing and nature- inspired which are my pegs for my future home.  Plus and plus for me.  Bawal magpasok ng shoes sa loob ng room so every floor may shoe locker and slippers!

IMG_7435
The lobby

IMG_7431

IMG_7432
Left door goes to the shower. Right door (not in photo) goes to the toilet. I would’ve taken home the soap and stuff, kung pwede lang 😦

IMG_7433

 

 

IMG_7427
Love
IMG_7428
Cute noh?

We didn’t get to avail the facilities  (like hot springs, massage, etc) kasi we had a very long dinner (with geishas!) and we still had to pack. I think if I’m  going to splurge on my next trip, this is one I’d splurge on. WALA AKONG MAGANDANG PICTURES SO THOSE WON’T DO THE PLACE ANY JUSTICE PERO HERE’S THE LINK TO THEIR WEBSITE, Mori No Uta. Promise, ang ganda talaga!

The next day we were up early for our flight back to Tokyo, and then Manila.

IMG_7466

It was honestly a surprise for me that I got back home healthy. I expected allergy attacks because of the cold temperature but I guess Hokkaido was kind to me. Despite the freezing days, I’d like to go back again to see more ice festivals (apparently, marami pala all around Hokkaido), to eat more of their dairy products and of course, to stay at Mori No Uta again, or maybe during spring? For now, I’ll just make do with the few photos (boo) from that Winter Wonderland.

Posted in FUN

Leave a Reply

