Guess what?

I’m getting married!

My next blog series was supposed to be about our beach trip in Siargao but I decided to slip in a post because I wanted to share something quite significant.

Last week, Kit staged this sweet and simple proposal with our friends in our favorite place, Montemar Beach Resort. It was everything I wanted the proposal to be- simple, intimate and meaningful.

The trip was supposed to be just my trip with friends but Kit’s friends also wanted a “beach trip”. The place was already fully booked when they inquired so they were waitlisted. A day before the trip, someone cancelled so Kit and his friends got their rooms. I learned that Kit already booked the rooms last month so the resort wasn’t really “fullybooked”. Sweet.

On the day of the trip, I woke up with a stomach bug and that made me contemplate if I still wanted to go. The resort was a four-hour drive from my house and I know there weren’t any reliable bathrooms on the way. Okay, sorry for the TMI. I decided to just go ahead since it’s been a long time since I saw my friends. #YOLO. My initial plan was to leave at 8AM so I could still make it in time for lunch at the resort but I left the house past 9AM already.  Kit and my friends got there first and were just waiting for me to arrive.

Just before 1PM, I finally arrived. What relief! I already drank medicines before leaving the house so I was all good but nevertheless, at least I had one less thing to worry about. We had lunch but just us girls. I was set on just focusing on my girls weekend and Kit was doing the same. We weren’t together all day; just the casual greetings whenever we crossed paths.
IMG_8665

IMG_9115

IMG_9134
At dinnertime, Kit and his friends got to the restaurant first. By the time we got there, I didn’t see them anymore and  I thought they were already in their rooms. After we finished our meal, we decided to go out and walk along the shore to have a photoshoot. We were wearing dresses because we were going to have a “Wine Night” in our room. Hahahahaha.

P_20170325_203642_vHDR_Auto
IMG_9085
The stars were abundant and shining,  and the waves were a joy to hear; soothing to the soul (naks). My friends were carrying flashlights kasi they said it would be dark. I remember Kit messaging me saying how bright the stars were and after a few meters, we saw some people sitting on the sand. I couldn’t see clearly who they were but they were waving to us so I just assumed it was Kit and his friends. As we were nearing them,  Eka grabbed my arm and led me closer to the water. I felt a slight nervousness and just told her,  “‘Wag mo naman ako lunurin, girl” or something like that. She handed me a note and they were holding the flashlight above me so I could read it. I knew then what was happening. I read Kit’s letter and I just started ugly crying. HAHAHAHA. I didn’t know what to do after reading it so I was just waiting. They asked me,  “Tapos mo na basahin?” When I said yes, they turned me around and there was Kit– standing in the middle of LED lights on the sand. I went closer to him and he knelt down and asked me to marry him. I don’t know where my voice went. I nodded and he started putting the ring on my left ring finger but because I am me, I asked him “Sa left ba? o sa right?” HAHHAHAHA. We honestly didn’t know so he put it on the right instead. We hugged each other and turned to face the crowd. IT WAS SO AWKWARD. ANO BA ANG GINAGAWA AFTER MA-ENGAGE?? I didn’t know know so I KEPT WAVING TO THEM AND SAYING THANK YOU. HAHAHAHA. Napansin ko lang ito after watching the videos.

SAMSUNG CSC
Sure ka ba?
IMG_9157
Oo

After all the photos and congratulations, we headed to our room to finally have our Wine Night… but in our pajamas.

IMG_9062
#NikKit4ever crew
IMG_9037
Cheers!

It was a weekend of fun, friendships and love. I wouldn’t have it any other way.

IMG_9055

Photo credits:
Eka & Jegs

Leave a Reply

